National Aviation Hall of Fame Boosts Award Amount

Winner of 26th Annual A. Scott Crossfield Aerospace Educator of the Year Award to receive $5,000

National Aviation Hall of Fame boosts award amount,
extends teacher “Call-for-Entries” to June 30th

(Dayton, OH – June 6, 2012) The Congressionally Chartered, National Aviation Hall of Fame (NAHF) today announced that several donors have boosted the cash stipend for the 26th Annual A. Scott Crossfield Aerospace Educator of the Year Award from its original amount of $1,500 to $5,000. The award is a juried competition open to current teachers serving grades K through 12.

In addition, the deadline for this year’s award nominations has been extended to June 30th, 2012. A review committee of aerospace industry and education professionals will examine each submission for documentation of a teacher’s effectiveness, creativity, and ability to maintain high standards for their students and themselves, with aerospace being the core subject matter or curricula.

The 2012 Crossfield Award recipient will receive an all-expenses paid trip to Dayton where they will receive their $5,000 cash stipend as part of the 50th Anniversary NAHF Enshrinement Dinner & Ceremony held in Dayton on Saturday, October 6, 2012. Known as America’s “Oscar Night of Aviation,” the event attracts a who’s who of the air and space community including industry leaders, former enshrinees, public officials and aviation buffs from across the U.S.

The 2011 Crossfield awardee, Shella R. Condino of Presidio High School, Presidio, Texas, was featured last month on CBS Evening News and CBS Sunday Morning programs, and her students were recent guests of President Obama at the White House Science Fair. Ms. Condino was recognized for her use of aerospace, including rocketry, to teach advanced physics to her students despite the challenges of being located in one of the most remote regions of the U.S. A team of her middle school students recently finished 11th out of 100 teams at the Team America Rocketry Challenge, hosted by the Aerospace Industries Association at The Plains, Virginia.

The Crossfield Award is named in honor of its founder, A. Scott Crossfield (1921-2006), who was inducted into the NAHF in 1983 in recognition of his contributions as a naval aviator, aerospace engineer and test pilot. He was the first man to successfully fly at speed above Mach 2 and Mach 3, the first man to fly the X-15, and contributed to the safety of manned spaceflight. Crossfield had a lifelong respect for the dedicated educators who had helped him along his path. He personally founded the award as a tangible way to recognize teachers of today that effectively use aerospace education as a way to foster the development of their young students.

The deadline for nominations was June 30, 2012

The winner must be able to attend the Enshrinement weekend.

Past winners include:

2011 – Shella Condino – Presidio, Texas
2010 – Herbert W. (Bill) Powley – Erwin, Tennessee
2009 – Christy Garvin – Cobb County, Georgia
2008 – Chantelle Rose – St Paris, Ohio
2007 – Marcus Petitjean – Russia, Ohio

For more information, go to or call 1-888-383-1903, ext. 11.

The NAHF is a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization founded in Dayton in 1962 and chartered by the U.S. Congress in 1964. Its mission is to honor America’s outstanding air and space pioneers, heroes and leaders, which it does through a 17,000 square-foot public Learning and Research Center featuring free admission to the public, interactive exhibits, youth education programs, its annual enshrinement ceremony, national merit awards, and other public outreach and education programs.

# # #

Media Contact:

Ron Kaplan
Enshrinement Director
[email protected]
TEL: 937-256-0944 ext. 16