The Neil Armstrong Outstanding Achievement Award

The Armstrong Award

“The Armstrong Award” is a highly prestigious aviation award named after Neil Armstrong, the military aviator, test-pilot, astronaut, educator, and 1979 Enshrinee. The award will be presented by the National Aviation Hall of Fame (NAHF) at its annual Enshrinement Dinner & Ceremony.

Award Criteria: The award is for exceptional aviation performance of national or international significance by a US citizen or by a group, the majority of which are US citizens. The incomparable accomplishment may be: a one-time event that establishes a new level of performance of an aviation activity; a demonstration of an exceptionally high level of personal skill in an aviation event; the development or demonstration of a breakthrough in aviation technology; or an enduring series of events that demonstrate life-long dedication to leadership in promoting aviation and the values of citizenship, dignity, integrity, and service.

  • Current Enshrinees of the NAHF are eligible if after 10 years from enshrinement, they continue to demonstrate the tenets of the award. 
  • The awardee must be willing to accept the award in-person at the Enshrinement event.

Nomination Package Information

Please provide the following nominee information.  Please keep in mind the selection criteria and attach any additional documentation and/or materials you choose to enhance your nomination.

  • Your personal letter describing why your nominee deserves to receive this award.
  • A synopsis (250 words maximum) of your nominee’s accomplishments including any Honors and awards received by your nominee.
  • Documentation to support the nominee’s efforts (Optional)
  • Letters from others in support of your nominee (Optional)