The National Aviation Hall of Fame Announces 2024 Enshrinement Ceremony

National Aviation Hall of Fame to celebrate 60th Annual Enshrinement in Dayton, Ohio September 14, 2024.

DAYTON, OHIO – December 1, 2023 – The National Aviation Hall of Fame (NAHF) is thrilled to announce the 60th Annual Enshrinement ceremony, set to take place on September 14, 2024, at our iconic home in Dayton, Ohio. This milestone event promises to be a captivating celebration of aviation excellence, honoring the individuals whose groundbreaking contributions have shaped the world of flight.

The National Aviation Hall of Fame, established in 1962, has been dedicated to honoring America’s outstanding air and space pioneers for over six decades. This year’s Enshrinement ceremony marks a significant moment in our history, as we recognize the achievements and legacy of individuals who have left an indelible mark on aviation.

The ceremony will take place at the National Museum of the United States Air Force. Attendees can expect a memorable evening filled with inspiring stories, remarkable achievements, and a shared passion for the incredible advancements in aviation.

Throughout the evening, we will enshrine individuals who have demonstrated exceptional leadership, innovation, and dedication to the world of flight. The NAHF Class of 2024 is a remarkable ensemble of individuals who have left an indelible mark on the aviation and space industries. Their contributions span a broad spectrum of accomplishments, furthering the frontiers of flight and exploration.

“The 60th Annual Enshrinement is a momentous occasion for the National Aviation Hall of Fame. We are proud to celebrate the achievements of these exceptional individuals who have played a pivotal role in advancing aviation and shaping its future, right here in Dayton where the Wright Brothers began,” said Aimee Maruyama, President/CEO of the National Aviation Hall of Fame.

As part of the celebration, the NAHF will host a series of events leading up to the Enshrinement ceremony, providing opportunities for aviation enthusiasts, industry professionals, and the public to join in the celebration. The President’s Reception will be held on September 13 where the NAHF will acknowledge individuals and teams who have made a significant impact in their field with our annual awards. Nominations are now being accepted and are due by January 10, 2024.

As part of the celebration, the NAHF is excited to announce that the 60th Annual Enshrinement sponsorship packages are now available. Individuals and organizations interested in supporting this prestigious event and aligning their brand with the legacy of aviation excellence are encouraged to contact Katie Main, our Director of Development and Communications, at [email protected] or 614-273-9966.

In addition, tickets for the Enshrinement ceremony will be available starting March 1, 2024. Take advantage of the opportunity to be part of this historic celebration. Stay tuned for further details and event updates.

For more information about the 60th Annual Enshrinement, sponsorships, and related events, please visit our website at or contact Katie Main at [email protected] or (937) 256-0944.

Meet the Distinguished Class of 2024

The NAHF Class of 2024 is a remarkable ensemble of individuals who have left an indelible mark on the aviation and space industries. Their contributions span a wide spectrum of accomplishments, furthering the frontiers of flight and exploration. This year’s honorees include:

(The late) Don Bateman – Aerospace engineer, revolutionized aviation safety by developing groundbreaking innovations, including the Ground Proximity Warning System (GPWS) and Enhanced Ground Proximity Warning System (EGPWS) that provide critical alerts to pilots about their proximity to the ground, obstacles, and terrain.

(The late) Gary Burrell and Dr. Min Kao – Co-founders of Garmin brought GPS technology to a broad range of consumer markets, including aviation. The duo brought products to market that revolutionized avionics, including the world’s first fully certified GPS receiver for instrument approaches, the G1000 glass-integrated flight deck, and inspired Garmin Autoland, the world’s first certified autonomous system that activates during an emergency to safely land an aircraft without human intervention earning Garmin the prestigious Robert J. Collier Trophy.

Dr. Peggy Chabrian – Founder and long-time president of Women in Aviation International. Grew the organization from its first conference attended by 150 people in 1990 to an organization representing more than 15,000 women in all aspects of aviation today. Her unwavering commitment has been instrumental in providing resources and opportunities, encouraging women to be active in the aviation industry.

Col. Fredrick Gregory – United States Air Force pilot, accomplished military engineer, distinguished test pilot, NASA astronaut, and former NASA Deputy Administrator. One of the pioneering first three African-Americans to venture into space, the first African-American to pilot a shuttle mission in 1985, and the first to command a space mission in 1989.

(The late) Katherine Gobel Johnson – American mathematician, played an indispensable role in NASA’s early space exploration endeavors. Her precise calculations of orbital mechanics, executed during her tenure as a NASA employee, were pivotal in ensuring the success of not only the first but also subsequent U.S. crewed spaceflights.

(The late) Joseph (Joe) Sutter – “Father of the 747”. Chief engineer for the development of the 747. His lifelong career at The Boeing Company, technical leadership, and management skills were instrumental in developing three generations of advanced transports, significantly contributing to U.S. preeminence in civil aeronautics.