The National Aviation Hall of Fame to Honor B-2 Stealth Bomb Squadron with Spirit of Flight Award

Dayton, OH: The National Aviation Hall of Fame proudly announces that the B-2 Spirit Stealth Bomb Squadron has been selected as the recipient of the Milton Caniff Spirit of Flight Award for their unparalleled contributions to aviation excellence. This prestigious accolade recognizes the exceptional dedication, innovation, and bravery demonstrated by the members of the B-2 Spirit Stealth Bomb Squadron, who stand as a cornerstone of America’s strategic aerial capabilities.

The Spirit of Flight Award, bestowed upon individuals or groups whose work epitomizes the pioneering spirit of aviation, is a testament to the squadron’s high standard of professionalism and dedication to safeguarding the nation’s interests.

“Being selected for the Spirit of Flight Award is a humbling recognition of the professionalism and dedication of Whiteman Air Force Base’s Airmen and families that operate, maintain, and support the B-2 Stealth Bomber. Team Whiteman works hard at being America’s premier bomb wing, ready to execute nuclear operations and global strike…anytime, anywhere!” said Col. Keith J. Butler, 509th Bomb Wing commander at Whiteman Air Force Base, Missouri. “This award is an absolute honor and underscores Air Force Global Strike Command’s commitment to aerospace excellence, service, and high standards required of our nation’s nuclear deterrence mission. This award highlights the combined teamwork of our active duty and Air National Guard Airmen, civilians, contractors, and their families in elevating the broader mission of our nation’s defense and contributions to the Spirit of Flight. Thank you for selecting the B-2 Team with this prestigious accolade.”

The B-2 Spirit Stealth Bomb Squadron has distinguished itself through its exceptional performance in critical missions, demonstrating unparalleled precision, stealth, and effectiveness in the execution of its duties. Their groundbreaking work has not only advanced the capabilities of aerial warfare but has also reinforced the importance of innovation and adaptability in the ever-evolving landscape of aviation technology.

“The B-2 Stealth Bombers flyovers inspire patriotism and are an inspirational display of US aerospace innovation and technology,” said Jim Cooling, Board Chair of the National Aviation Hall of Fame. “The unwavering commitment to excellence of their team members epitomizes the very essence of aviation service and bravery.”

The Milton Caniff Spirit of Flight Award will be presented to the B-2 Spirit Steal Bomb Squadron in conjunction with the 60th Annual Enshrinement Dinner & Ceremony during the President’s Reception on September 13, 2024. Over 600 people are expected to attend two days of events in Dayton, including industry leaders and returning Enshrinees, such as former NASA astronauts Charlie Bolden, Bob Crippen, and Kathy Sullivan, aviation visionary Joan Sullivan Garrett, as well as aviation titans Dale Klapmeier and John & Martha King.

The ceremony features the formal installment of the NAHF Enshrinee Class of 2024 (The late) Don Bateman (The late) Joseph “Joe” Sutter, Dr. Peggy Chabrian., (The late) Gary Burrell & Dr. Min Kao, Col. Frederick Gregory, and (The late) Katherine Johnson.

The 60th NAHF’s Annual Enshrinement Dinner & Ceremony is open to the public by advance registration only. Sponsorship opportunities are available. To find more information, or call 937-256-0944 ext.16.