The United States Department of the Air Force – Boeing X-37B Team to Receive the 2019 Robert J. Collier Trophy


Contact: Stephanie Griffith

Director, Awards, Events & Membership

National Aeronautic Association

703-416-4888 Ext 104

[email protected]

The United States Department of the Air Force – Boeing X-37B Team to Receive the 2019 Robert J. Collier Trophy

Washington, DC, August 13, 2020 – The National Aeronautic Association (NAA) is pleased to announce that the United States Department of the Air Force – Boeing X-37B team has been named as the recipient of the 2019 Robert J. Collier Trophy for “… developing and employing the world’s only reusable, autonomous spaceplane, which logged more than 2,865 days in orbit across five missions, changing access to space and serving as the nation’s workhorse in space experimentation and technology.”

“The X-37B team win of the 2019 National Aeronautic Association, Robert J. Collier Trophy exemplifies the kind of lean, agile and innovative technological development our nation needs to secure its interests,” said U.S. Space Force Chief of Space Operations, Gen. John “Jay” Raymond. “The ability to test new systems in space and return them to Earth is unique to the X-37B and enables the U.S. to more efficiently and effectively develop spacepower to maintain superiority in the space domain.”

The Collier Trophy is awarded annually for the greatest achievement in aeronautics or astronautics in America, with respect to improving the performance, efficiency, and safety of air or space vehicles, the value of which has been thoroughly demonstrated by actual use during the preceding year.” The list of Collier recipients represents a timeline of air and space achievements, marking major events in the history of flight dating back to 1911.

“We are honored to receive the Collier Trophy, along with our partners at the U.S. Department of the Air Force, in recognition of a record-breaking year for the X-37B program,” said Boeing Defense, Space & Security CEO Leanne Caret. “The extraordinary men and women who make up our government-industry team now take their place alongside the Collier Trophy legends who preceded them. They have made a lasting impact on aerospace development for the past decade and will influence future generations of space systems to come.”

“The X-37B team should be commended for their accomplishments over the last decade and more importantly for what they accomplished in 2019,” said NAA Chairman Jim Albaugh.  “As the world’s only autonomous, reusable spaceplane, it continues to contribute to our understanding of both space and air flight.”

The Collier Trophy Selection Committee, comprised of 35 aviation and aerospace professionals, reviewed presentations from nine nominees and selected the X-37B team as the recipient on August 11.

Members of the Collier Trophy Selection Committee:

Richard Aboulafia, Teal Group

Jim Albaugh, Chairman, NAA

Christopher Brunner, Raytheon Technologies

Steve Champness, Atlanta Aero Club

Leda Chong, Gulfstream Aerospace

James Darcy, Airbus

Rich Hanson, Academy of Model Aeronautics

Duane Hawkins, Spirit Aerosystems

David Hurley, Aviation Partners

Margaret Jenny, MJenny Strategies

Tim Keating, The Boeing Company

Leo Knaapen, Bombardier Aviation

Charles Lyon, Northrop Grumman

Samantha Magill, Vice-Chair, NAA

Elizabeth Matarese, Secretary, NAA

Mary Miller, Signature Aviation

Mary Claire Murphy, Textron

Ken Panos, Aerojet Rocketdyne

Georgia Pappas, Aero Club of New England

Eric Pierce, Lockheed Martin

Donald Pointer, Dassault Falcon

Peter Prowitt, GE Aviation

Mark Rector, Honda Aircraft Company

Darryl Roberson, Rolls-Royce, North America

Blake Scholl, Boom Aerospace

Todd Simmons, Cirrus Aircraft

Amy Spowart, National Aviation Hall of Fame

Bob Stangarone, Stangarone & Associates

Ellen Stofan, Smithsonian’s National Air & Space Museum

Alyssa Ten Eyck, Embraer

Brad Thress, FlightSafety International

Read Van de Water, Safran

Tony Velocci, Aviation Week (Ret.)

Patty Wagstaff, Patty Wagstaff Airshows, Inc.

Clyde Woltman, Leonardo Company

The 2019 Collier Trophy will be formally presented on a date to be determined.  For more information or to view a complete list of pervious recipients of the Collier Trophy, please visit

The National Aeronautic Association is a non-profit, membership organization devoted to fostering America’s aerospace leadership and promoting public understanding of the importance of aviation and space flight to the United States.

#     #     #