Call for Entries: 2012 A. Scott Crossfield Teacher of the Year Award


26th Annual A. Scott Crossfield
Aerospace Education Teacher of the Year Award
“Call for Entries”

National Aviation Hall of Fame is seeking nominations for this
prestigious award Honoring America’s Aerospace Teachers

(Dayton, Ohio – March 19, 2012) The National Aviation Hall of Fame is seeking entries for the 26th annual A. Scott Crossfield Aerospace Education Teacher of the Year Award, which includes a $1,500 cash stipend.  Founded by famed research test pilot Scott Crossfield in 1986, the award is a juried competition open to current classroom teachers in grades K through 12.

Nominations will be examined by a review committee of aerospace industry and education professionals for documentation of a teacher’s effectiveness, creativity and ability to maintain high standards for their students and themselves with aerospace being the core subject matter or their curricula.

The Crossfield Award winner will receive a $1,500 cash stipend during the NAHF Enshrinement events held during the first weekend of October in Dayton, Ohio.   The winning teacher and a guest will also receive an all expense paid trip to Dayton, Ohio and be a guest at the Hall of Fame’s 50th Anniversary Enshrinement Ceremony on October 6, 2012.

In 2011, Shella R. Condino, physics teacher at Presidio High School, Presidio, Texas, was unanimously chosen by the National Aviation Hall of Fame’s selection committee to receive the 2011 A. Scott Crossfield Aerospace Education Teacher of the Year Award.  Using aerospace as a means to teach advanced physics to her students, Ms. Condino provides a hands-on approach to learning. Despite the challenge of being located in one of the most remote regions of the continental United States, her students have consistently overcome geographic, financial, and logistical obstacles to compete among the nation’s brightest students at the Team America Rocketry Challenge, hosted by the Aerospace Industries Association at The Plains, Virginia.

Ms. Condino represents the best attributes of an education professional: dedication, commitment, resourcefulness, innovation, and creativity.  Recently her students were guests at the White House and met President Obama during the White House Science Fair.

This award is named in honor of Scott Crossfield (1921-2006) who was inducted into the NAHF in 1983 in recognition of his contributions as a naval aviator, aerospace engineer and test pilot.  He was the first man to successfully fly at speeds above Mach 2 and Mach 3; the first man to fly the X-15; and contributed to the safety of manned spaceflight, among many other achievements.

The deadline for nominations is June 30, 2012

The winner must be able to attend the Enshrinement weekend.

Crossfield Nomination Form

Past winners include:

2011 – Shella Condino – Presidio, Texas
2010 – Herbert W. (Bill) Powley – Erwin, Tennessee
2009 – Christy Garvin – Cobb County, Georgia
2008 – Chantelle Rose – St Paris, Ohio
2007 – Marcus Petitjean – Russia, Ohio

For more information, go to or call 1-888-383-1903, ext. 11.

The NAHF is a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization founded in Dayton in 1962 and chartered by the U.S. Congress in 1964.  Its mission is to honor America’s outstanding air and space pioneers, heroes and leaders, which it does through a 17,000 square-foot public Learning and Research Center featuring free admission to the public, interactive exhibits, youth education programs, its annual enshrinement ceremony, national merit awards, and other public outreach and education programs.

#   #   #

Media Contact:


Phil Roberts
NAHF Chairman of the Board

[email protected]
TEL: (937) 256-0944 x10