Date and Location of 50th Anniversary Enshrinement Ceremony Announced

50th Anniversary of the National Aviation Hall of Fame
Enshrinement Attracting a “Who’s Who”
of Aerospace Pioneers, Heroes and Leaders

Dayton, Ohio selected as Enshrinement site to celebrate four pioneering Inductees into the National Aviation Hall of Fame

(Dayton, Ohio – March 7, 2012) The National Aviation Hall of Fame (NAHF) today announced the date and location for the 50th Anniversary of the National Aviation Hall of Fame Enshrinement Dinner & Ceremony, which will be held in Dayton, Ohio on Saturday October 6th, 2012. The decision was made after significant deliberations and commitments from Dayton business leaders to ensure the event is a financial success during these difficult economic times.

It is anticipated that an audience of 1000 or more aerospace industry executives, armed forces leadership, government representatives, corporate sponsors, aviation scholars and enthusiasts from across the United States will attend this prestigious event known throughout the aviation industry as “The Oscar Night of Aviation”. Tickets to the black-tie event are available by advance reservation from the Congressionally-chartered non-profit NAHF, with proceeds benefiting its public Learning and Research Center in Dayton, Ohio as well as youth education and outreach programs.

The Inductee Class of 2012 is:

  • Geraldyn “Jerrie” Cobb, record-setting pilot who learned to fly at age 12, was the first woman to pass all the Mercury astronaut selection tests. Later nominated for the Nobel Prize for pioneering humanitarian flights in South America.
  • Keith Ferris, known world-wide as the “Dean of American Aviation Art,” founded the American Society of Aviation Artists. Also an expert and inventor of aircraft paint systems for military camouflage and high visibility purposes.
  • The late Lt. Gen. Elwood R. “Pete” Quesada, USAF, helped develop and successfully demonstrate air-to-air refueling in 1929, served as first commander of Tactical Air Command, and later helped establish and helmed the FAA.
  • The late Richard T. Whitcomb, Acclaimed as the most influential aeronautical researcher of his time, his concepts include the revolutionary Area Rule, Supercritical Airfoil, and winglets that enable aircraft to fly faster, farther and with less fuel.

Upon their induction, the names of Cobb, Ferris, Quesada and Whitcomb will join those of the 211 legends of aviation previously so honored by the National Aviation Hall of Fame, including the very first two Enshrinees, Orville and Wilbur Wright.

“Each one of this year’s Inductee’s helps us to fulfill our vision of-Every youth learns lessons from American aerospace heroes-said Phil Roberts, NAHF Chairman of the Board. It is a sincere privilege and pleasure to add these four luminaries to the National Aviation Hall of Fame. Their accomplishments, contributions and sacrifices allow us to Inspire, Honor and Educate youth of all ages through the stories of their life and achievements.”

The National Aviation Hall of Fame wants to thank the Charlotte, North Carolina community for their response, desire and proposal to host the 2012 Enshrinement Ceremony. In the future the NAHF looks to develop a significant and close relationship with Charlotte and the “First in Flight” state. North Carolina has a very proud aviation history and as the National Aviation Hall of Fame looks to broaden the reach of our “National” organization we consider Charlotte and the entire state of North Carolina as excellent potential partners for our future growth.

Advance reservations for the NAHF’s 50th Annual Enshrinement Dinner & Ceremony on Saturday October 6th, 2012, may be placed by calling 937-256-0944 ext.10. A portion of each seat purchased is deductible as allowed by law. Please ask us about sponsorship opportunities. Deadline for all reservations is September 21st, 2012. For more information visit the NAHF website at

The NAHF is a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization founded in Dayton in 1962 and chartered by the U.S. Congress in 1964. Its mission is to honor America’s outstanding air and space pioneers, heroes and leaders, which it does through a 17,000 square-foot public Learning and Research Center featuring free admission to the public, interactive exhibits, youth education programs, its annual enshrinement ceremony, national merit awards, and other public outreach and education programs.

# # #

Media Contact:

Chris Grazel
NAHF Executive Director
[email protected]
TEL: (937) 256-0944 x26
CEL: (757) 560-7676