Entries sought for Crossfield Aerospace Education Teacher of the Year Award

Scott Crossfield (Feb. 18, 2011 – Dayton, OH) The National Aviation Hall of Fame (NAHF) is seeking entries for the 25th annual A. Scott Crossfield Aerospace Education Teacher of the Year Award, which includes a $1,500 cash stipend.

Since its creation in 1986, the award recognizes and rewards public school teachers in grades K – 12 for outstanding achievements in aerospace education.

Nominations will be examined by a review committee of aerospace industry and education professionals for documentation of a teacher’s effectiveness, creativity and ability to maintain high standards for their students and themselves. Aerospace should comprise the core subject matter of their curricula. The deadline for nominations is May 1, 2011.

The stipend will be presented to the winner at the National Aviation Hall of Fame President’s Reception/ Dinner on Friday, July 15, 2011 at the National Museum of the U.S. Air Force in Dayton, Ohio. In addition, the winner, and a guest, will receive round-trip air fare to Dayton, accommodations for two nights, plus seats at the National Aviation Hall of Fame 50th annual Enshrinement Ceremony on Saturday, July 16, 2011 at the Dayton Convention Center. The award is named for famed research test pilot Scott Crossfield (1921-2006). He became an enshrinee of the NAHF in 1983 because of his contributions as a naval aviator, aerospace engineer and test pilot. He was the first man to successfully fly at speeds above Mach 2 and Mach 3; the first man to fly the X-15; and contributed to the safety of manned spaceflight among many other achievements.

The 2010 Crossfield Award Winner was Lt. Col. Herbert W. (Bill) Powley of Erwin, Tennessee. Powley is a 1967 Air Force Academy graduate who flew 347 missions during the Vietnam War and twice won the Distinguished Flying Cross. After retiring, he began a second career as an instructor for an Air Force Junior ROTC (AFJROTC) unit in Erwin, Tennessee in 1991. Over the next 19 years he developed an award-winning program that helped thousands of students take orientation flights and dozens of the cadets to fly solo. Several of his former students have become military or professional pilots.

To learn more about the award, or to submit a nomination, please click here.