National Aviation Hall of Fame Reveals Class of 2020

National Aviation Hall of Fame Reveals “Class of 2020”
Announcement made at the National Aeronautic Association Fall Awards dinner in
 Washington, D.C.

November 13, 2019-The National Aviation Hall of Fame (NAHF) is pleased to announce the individuals who have been elected for its 2020 Enshrinement. Trustee and Chairman Mr. Michael Quiello and President and CEO Ms. Amy Spowart revealed the Class of 2020 before an audience of nearly 300 attendees at the Fall Awards Dinner of the National Aeronautic Association in Washington, D.C.

Each year, the NAHF Board of Nominations, a voting body comprised of over 120 aviation professionals nationwide, selects from a prestigious group of previously-nominated air and space pioneers to be recognized for their achievements with induction into the NAHF.  Since its founding in 1962, 246 men and women have been honored with enshrinement into the Congressionally-chartered, non-profit National Aviation Hall of Fame.

The NAHF Class of 2020, who will be inducted at the 58th Enshrinement Dinner & Ceremony on September 26th, 2020 in Dayton, Ohio, is a diverse group representing a broad range of enduring contributions to both the advancement of flight and manned exploration of space.

(The late) Second Lieutenant Eugene J. Bullard, USAF- WWI Pilot; First African American combat pilot; Denied in the U.S., flew for France; and is one of the highest decorated pilots including the Chevalier de la Legion d’honneur.

(The late) Dr. Maxime “Max” A. Faget- Ph.D. Mechanical Engineer; developed rockets, missiles and aircraft; and designed the Mercury Spacecraft and was part of the design team for Gemini, Apollo and the Space Shuttle.

Ms. Joan Sullivan Garrett- Medical Professional; Visionary; Founder of MedAire; established the first aviation global medical emergency response; and directs real-time safety services to thousands annually throughout aviation.

(The late) Captain Richard “Dick” F. Gordon, USN- Naval Aviator; Test Pilot; Bendix Trophy Winner; Gemini 11 Pilot; Command Module Pilot Apollo 12; Back-up Commander Apollo 12; and part of design team for the Space Shuttle.

Colonel/Dr. Paul G. Kaminski, USAF (Ret)– Ph.D. Aeronautical Engineer; led many technical aerospace programs including guided munitions; Lead Developer of Stealth Technology; and Directed F-117 and B-2 Programs.

“We believe that this is an excellent class and we are already looking forward to their induction in our home, the Birthplace of Aviation, Dayton, Ohio”, NAHF Board of Trustees Chairman Michael Quiello says. “From pioneer Bullard, to visionaries Faget, Sullivan Garrett and Kaminski, to aerospace hero Gordon, the NAHF’s Class of 2020 represents the best in aviation.  We applaud the Board of Nominations for their challenging and thorough work.”


The NAHF was founded in Dayton in 1962 and chartered by the U.S. Congress in 1964. Its mission is to honor America’s aerospace legends to inspire future leaders, which it does through a 17,000 square-foot public Learning Center featuring interactive exhibits, a youth education program, other public outreach programs, its annual enshrinement ceremony and collaboration with like-minded organizations.