The National Aviation Hall of Fame’s 2018 Enshrinement Ceremony Draws the Best of American Aerospace

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                                                                                               
August 24, 2018

Amy Spowart
(937) 256-0944 ext. 11
[email protected]

The National Aviation Hall of Fame’s 2018 Enshrinement Ceremony Draws the Best of American Aerospace

 Dayton, OH – The Board of Trustees of the National Aviation Hall of Fame (NAHF) is thrilled to announce that its 56th Annual Enshrinement Dinner and Ceremony Presented by Cirrus Aircraft, to be held on September 28, 2018, is on target to be the most sponsored event in its history.  With wide appeal, from the industry’s most influential names to aviation’s brightest stars, the event represents a “who’s who” of aviation at the “Oscar Night of Aviation”.

This NAHF is indebted to industry giants who have committed to support the annual event.  NAHF Chairman Michael Quiello states, “All indications are that this year’s Enshrinement is very well received by the marketplace and helps insure the growth of the NAHF.   It’s very gratifying to see the results of the last few years of work developing the NAHF brand.  Combined with an exemplary group of Inductees, the enthusiasm is building.  We can’t wait for Enshrinement to happen.”

“Our sponsor list is growing to include organizations that that we have never hosted before.  We are excited to see the effort to expand our mission is working,” explains NAHF President David Brixey.  “First year sponsors include aerospace giants Airbus and Northrup Grumman, former NASA Administrator and Secretary of the Navy Sean O’Keefe, industry leaders Tactical Air Support, AAR Corp, aviation organizations GAMA, THEIA Group and Unitech.  They will join returning sponsors United Airlines, Perform Air International, Williams International, GE Aviation, Herb Kelleher, Southwest, Rolls-Royce and Dow DuPont for our most prestigious Enshrinement to date.”

The 56th Annual NAHF Enshrinement Dinner and Ceremony will take place at the historic National Building Museum.  The Class of 2018 are; Colonel R. Walter “Walt” Cunningham, USMC (Ret), Korean War veteran, fighter pilot and Apollo astronaut; General John R. “Jack” Dailey, USMC (Ret), Vietnam veteran, fighter pilot, Marine Corps, NASA and NASM leader; the late Mr. William “Bill” Dana, NASA pioneer, engineer and test pilot; and General Ronald R. “Ron” Fogleman, USAF (Ret), Vietnam veteran, fighter pilot and Air Force Leader.  The four inductees will bring the total number of NAHF Enshrinees to 241.  

2004 NAHF Enshrinee Major General William A. “Bill” Anders, USAF (Ret) will present Col. Cunningham at enshrinement.  M/Gen. Anders is an engineer, Apollo astronaut and was one of the first three humans to experience the dark side of the moon. After his military career, M/Gen. Anders served in leadership positions at several aerospace companies such as Textron and General Dynamics.

Presenting General Dailey will be aviation legend, Mr. Bruce Whitman.  Mr. Whitman is currently the President and CEO of Flight Safety, International.  Additionally, Mr. Whitman is Chairman Emeritus of the Congressional Medal of Honor Foundation and serves on several boards including Orbis International.

2001 NAHF Enshrinee Major General Joe Engle., USAF (Ret) will present Mr. Dana for induction into the NAHF. M/Gen. Engle is the last living X-15 pilot, and is a USAF and NASA test pilot and Shuttle astronaut.  M/Gen. Engle is the only person to have manually landed the space shuttle through reentry and landing and the only person to have flown two winged aircraft in space (the X-15 and the Shuttle).

Presenting General Fogleman will Major General Donald Shepperd, USAF (Ret).  M/Gen. Shepperd served as MISTY FAC in Vietnam and took several leadership rules in the USAF before serving as the Director of the Air National Guard at the Pentagon from 1994 to 1998.  Since then, he has authored several books and has served as a military analyst for national news programs.

“We are excited to share that several NAHF Enshrinees will join us to witness the induction of the Class of 2018,”  reports Executive Director Amy Spowart.  “To date, committed to attend are WWII Triple Ace Bud Anderson, former NASA Administrator Charlie Bolden, aviation legend Walt Boyne, Shuttle Commander Eileen Collins, astronaut Bob Crippen, aerospace artist Keith Ferris, Top Gun Hoot Gibson, aviation legend Joe Kittinger, aviation leader Dale Klapmeier, Tuskegee Airman Charles McGee, and aviation leader Tom Poberezny.”

Sponsorship and seating for the 56th Annual NAHF Enshrinement Dinner and Ceremony are limited. To make reservations or for more information, visit

The National Aviation Hall of Fame, a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit, is the only Congressionally-chartered aviation hall of fame in the U.S.