“Pioneers of Stealth” receives 2015 Milton Caniff Spirit of Flight Award

Group honored by National Aviation Hall of Fame for low observables development

POS_Spirit_Of_Flight_06(DAYTON, Ohio – Dec. 24, 2015)  The National Aviation Hall of Fame (NAHF) has awarded its 2015 Milton Caniff Spirit of Flight Award to the “Pioneers of Stealth” in recognition of its contributions to the early development of low observables (“stealth”) technology.   The annual award, which was established by the NAHF in 1981 and later renamed in tribute to longtime Hall of Fame supporter, Dayton native and acclaimed artist, Milton Caniff, is presented to group or organization in honor of exceptional contributions to the advancement of flight.

According to the NAHF’s official 2015 award citation, “The Pioneers of Stealth is a cadre of government and contractor personnel who collectively pioneered the revolutionary discipline of ‘low observable’ aircraft design, development, test, production, operations and sustainment.  Their work was instrumental to the successful development of the B-2, F-117, F-22, F-35 and other aircraft and systems relying on stealth technology, of which much remains classified today.”

The citation and award was formally presented earlier this year by NAHF Board of Trustees Secretary, Fran Duntz, at the Pioneers of Stealth annual reunion held in Williamsburg, Virginia.   Accepting on behalf the Pioneers of Stealth was retired Air Force Colonel Jack Twigg. Col. Twigg led the initial cadre of Air Force engineers and program managers that managed the first low observables projects – Have Blue, Tacit Blue and, later, the F-117.   Co-founded in 1990 by Col. Twigg and Lt. Gen. Dick Scofield, USAF (Ret), the Pioneers of Stealth has approximately 100 members.

2015_Spowart_SOF panel_24decA 2015 award plaque has been added to the permanent Milton Caniff “Spirit of Flight” display in the NAHF’s public Learning Center, adjacent to the National Museum of the United States Air Force.  The Pioneers of Stealth are now featured among previous annual award recipients such as the Doolittle Raiders, WASPs, Apollo Astronaut Crews, and Society of Experimental Test Pilots.

The NAHF is a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization founded in Dayton in 1962 and chartered by the U.S. Congress in 1964 with a mission of honoring America’s legends of aerospace to inspire future leaders.  Headquartered in Dayton, Ohio, the NAHF operates a 17,000 square-foot public Learning Center featuring interactive exhibits, a youth education program, its annual enshrinement and other award ceremonies, as well as a variety of public outreach programs.

For more information visit www.nationalaviation.org or call (937) 256-0944 x19.

#   #   #

Media Contact:

Ron Kaplan                                                     TEL: (937) 256-0944 ext.16
NAHF Enshrinement Director                             CEL: (937) 212-8847
[email protected]